Bacon Basil Tomato and Cheese

Today’s lunch was inspired by another blogger that I found a couple of days ago.  The basil jumped out at me as I was scrolling through her pictures.  I simply love basil right now in my life and have been using fresh basil from my garden all spring and summer.  Perhaps it is because basil is the ONLY thing I could get to grow in my garden!  Check out her post at Channeling Contessa.

Beautiful Basil

Basically following her instruction, I placed half of my homemade sourdough English muffin on the pan and layered 2-3 slices of bacon with pepper jack cheese.  I broiled on high for 5 or so minutes.  I pulled it out just in time; the bacon almost wanted to overcook.  While the bacon and cheese were melting in the broiler, I put a bit of Kraft Creamy Poppyseed dressing on the other half of the English muffin.  This second half Christa toasted for me.  Then covered it with fresh basil leaves with a tomato slice.

When the cheese and bacon half came out of the oven, I placed the two halves together and served.

Everyone was all smiles and wanted to know if there was another one.  Not this time, but next time I might have to make more!

One response

Leave a Reply

