Too Short?

How would my life be different with arms that were too short or with no arms at all?  I know there are many people who do not have full use of their arms.  Many people, who live in close proximity to me as a direct result of the Port-au-Prince earthquake of 2010, have lost the privilege of having arms and/or legs.  Life has been dramatically altered in so many ways for these people. Many times, they are left with little options for their livelihood, left to be beggars on the street.

If I lost my arms, I wouldn’t be able to prepare food with quickness and accuracy.  Washing clothes would be a monumental task. Sweeping the floor would be impossible.   All of my “work” would have to be done with assistance. The saddest part might be that I would never be able to give my husband or my kids a big hug.  Or what if there was a terrible accident and I couldn’t reach in for a rescue.

This year I am trying to read through the Bible in a year together with Christa (11) and Hannah (9).  I was challenged to read my Bible in a year with my kids because of my great friend Emily, who together with her family, accomplished this very same challenge.  Although we are not overwhelmingly succeeding, we are not failing completely.  The other day, I was reading from Numbers 11 and a word jumped out at me.  It seems this same word jumped out to me a few years previously from Isaiah.  I decided to get out my husband’s huge concordance to see where else this word might show up within the same context.

Numbers 11:23  The LORD answered Moses, “Is the LORD’s arm too short?  You will now see whether or not what I say will come true for you.”

 

Isaiah 59:1  “Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear.  But your iniquities have separated you from your God;  your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear.”

 

Isaiah 50:2  “When I came, why was there no one?

When I called, why was there no one to answer?

Was my arm too short to ransom you?  Do I lack the strength to rescue you?

All Scriptures from the NIV, italics mine.

 

Try to imagine God with Short Arms

I love the word picture that God shows us when he asks us if His arm is too short to save.  If God’s arms were too short, he wouldn’t be able to do what He says He can do.  His promises would be empty.  His words be void.

 

I am so thankful that God gives us these words about His arms.  I am thankful that he has rescued me from my sin.  He saved my family from the deadly earthquake.  My God is mighty to save; and He has long arms!

Join us for Gratituesday at Heavenly Homemakers!

Leave a Reply

