Making Mudballs

Recently I posted about how I make my own coconut oil.  I don’t want to neglect a really amazing by-product of that process.  I hate that term by-product because it sounds so unnatural, but it could not be closer to all natural!  After you grate your coconut meat and push it through the sieve making the coconut milk, you are left with the coconut meat stripped of its oil.  I take this coconut and spread it on a bar pan and pop it in the oven at 200 degrees until it is dry. Usually, it takes about an hour or so.

coconut flour

After it is dry, I run it through my coffee grinder to make it fine and uniform.  Why would I want to do this??  You can read more about coconut flour at Tropical Traditions.  Coconut flour is super high in fiber and a great source of protein.  I don’t have to worry about being gluten free for anyone in my family, but this flour is gluten free.

What do I do with coconut flour?  I make mudballs!  The original mudball recipe I am sure is delicious; however, I have a hard time with that whole recipe thing.  Also, I scale the recipe up a few notches so that I can have some to put in the freezer for a couple of snacks for my always hungry children.

1 cup peanut butter

2 Haitian chocolate balls

1 cup of honey

1 cup of coconut flour

2 cups of oats

1 cup of walnuts

Melt one cup of peanut butter together with the chocolate and honey over low heat in a large pan.

Turn off heat and add dry ingredients until thoroughly covered.  Have some kids help you make them into bite size mudballs (but only if you don’t care that they eat some along the way!).

My Helping Hannah

I use Haitian peanut butter that is all natural with no added sugar, along with unsweetened chocolate.  The original recipe calls for chocolate chips.  If you use chocolate chips and processed peanut butter, I think it might be too sweet.  I don’t know as I have not experimented with the other ingredients.  Also, my peanut butter had some hot pepper ground into it as well (a Haitian favorite!). My kids love these! They are so easily adapted to whatever your own tastes might be.

Leave a Reply

